Birthday Blues

102110

It’s just gone midnight on my birthday and I’m draped over my couch, a hand hanging lazily from it into a bowl of microwave popcorn. The air is hot and thick in the apartment and I’m too cheap to turn the aircon on so I’m making do by hanging out in my pyjama shorts only. I absently stir the unpopped kernels with the tips of my fingers as I gaze through my TV set. There’s a Sex and the City omnibus running on TV Tokyo dubbed in Japanese. A shrill seiyuu is making Sarah Jessica Parker even more annoying – a feat I previously believed to be impossible – when the there’s a knock at the door.

I check my watch before unsticking myself from the leather upholstery and getting to my feet. There are very few people who visit me at all, let alone at this hour, so I walk to the door confidently thinking it’s Dalton, looking for a place to crash after a night on the Tokyo tiles.

It isn’t.

AUTHOR’S NOTE:
I’m keeping the extracts for KOTW short as we approach November. November is, as some of you might know, the official Kiss of the Womb mega-month I’m running for NaNoWriMo. Miu’s legendary entrance will be concluded next week, and then after that it’s going to be a mad 30-day dash through the entire sordid affair from beginning to end. Look forward to it!!

~ by Joseph Blame on October 21, 2010.

One Response to “Birthday Blues”

  1. […] [BIRTHDAY BLUES] (originally posted October 21st 2010) [HOUSECALL] (originally posted October 28th 2010) […]

Leave a Reply

 
