Good Morning Goodbyes

101310

  She’s pulling her shirt on over her bare breasts, her simple white bra instead folded away in her purse. I ask her why and she says it’s because it’s uncomfortable and besides she likes the looks she gets from people on the subway when they see her nipples bleeding through her tank top. I watch the tattoo on her stomach, which was so definitely her, disappear underneath the cotton and I’m sad to see it go.

  Her hair is messy so to counteract this she musses it up some more to give it a purposeful shag rather than a just been laid ruffle. The sun is breaking across the New York skyline and filtering through the towering buildings in thin slits, casting long shadows across the city below. New York never went to sleep but it’s waking up regardless, changing shifts if you will. The night people are creeping away as the day people stir and my night person pulls her drainpipe jeans up around her fantastic ass and I’m sad to see that go, too.

  Reluctantly I slip on my trousers and walk across to the dresser, my leather wallet lying there where I left it last night. She’s talking behind me, something about her girlfriend and a catch-up she’ll have to cancel because I kept her up all night. She says it in a way that makes me smile a little. I take an extra twenty out for the compliment.

  I walk over to her with the wad of bills in my hand and ask her if the journey she’s about to take is considered a walk of shame. She say’s it isn’t. She say’s it’s like riding the bus home after a hard days work – tired but happy with a touch of fulfilment. She licks a finger and reaches forward and slides about a half of the notes from my fingers and leaves me holding the rest. She say’s she wont charge me for the foreplay and that it was a wonderful evening and I’ll just have to do her again sometime. She kisses me on the cheek and leaves and I’m sad to see her go.

It isn’t until long after the door has slammed her goodbye, and I’m lying in bed waiting for sleep to take me, that the wordplay registers, and my smile returns in a haze between today and tomorrow.

AUTHOR’S NOTE:
And so, for the first time here at BPD, a mini-series officially reaches it’s end. Goodbye, Date With The Night, it was fun, but 3 parts just felt right.

~ by Joseph Blame on October 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
